More Book Lists!

readingFor fans of Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and House of Cards!  Click here for readalikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Upcoming Book Discussions

Call us at (631) 586-3000 to reserve your copy – new members welcome!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

The Vacationers by Emma Straub

vacationers

Meet the Posts: Franny, Jim, Sylvia, and Bobby. Two weeks away from their life in Manhattan on the Balearic island of Mallorca sounds like a vacation in paradise.  Joining the family is Bobby’s much older girlfriend Carmen, and Franny’s best friend Charles and his boyfriend, Lawrence.  Told from the viewpoints of all characters, this story is filled with secrets, humor, betrayals, and wisdom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Welcome

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Jacket Hannah Kent takes the true story of Agnes Magnusdottir, the last person executed in Iceland, and makes it moving and unforgettable with sympathetic characters and rich detail.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Chase by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg

JacketFBI agent and fugitive team up to outwit art thief in the second of the series.  Good suspense with subtle humor.  Also check out The Heist.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Rooms by Lauren Oliver

JacketEstranged family members gather at Richard Walker’s house after he dies but they are not alone.  Two past inhabitants observe them as memories haunt both the living and the dead.  Be warned – this is NOT a horror story.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Matchmaker by Elin Hilderbrand

JacketDabney Kimball has a knack for pairing up the right couples – forty-two to be exact.  But when her former lover comes back to Nantucket, she wonders if her own marriage of 27 years was the right choice.  As is Hilderbrand’s style, it’s full of imperfect people with imperfect lives.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Up At Butternut Lake by Mary McNear

JacketSweet tale of love, loss and family with nicely drawn characters and good sense of place.  Debut for McNear and first in the Butternut Trilogy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal

JacketRacial tension of the turbulent 60s provides the backdrop for this charming coming-of-age story.  Liberty “Ibby” Bell finds herself literally dropped off at her grandmother Fannie’s doorstep.  No color boundaries here, Fannie and the household servants all become family to her.  Recommended to fans of The Help.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks