More Book Lists!

readingFor fans of Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and House of Cards!  Click here for readalikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Join Our Summer Reading Club

02 Adult Slogan 2They’re not just for kids!  Sign up for our Summer Reading Club, hand in reviews for weekly raffles, and be entered in our Grand Prize Drawing.

The program runs from July 1st – August 9th.  Open to Deer Park cardholders only.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Upcoming Book Discussions

Call us at (631) 586-3000 to reserve your copy – new members welcome!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

The Moon Sisters by Therese Walsh

WalshBeth Moon’s death devastates her family, prompting synesthetic daughter Olivia to take off to carry out her lifelong wish to see the “ghost lights” of the cranberry glades.  Sister Jazz reluctantly follows and the trainhoppers they meet spark a new level of understanding between the two in this offbeat but affecting coming-of-age story.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Missing You by Harlan Coben

CobenDateless and obsessive NYPD detective Kate Donovan stumbles upon an ex-fiance on a dating site.  He doesn’t want to be found, and several people start to turn up missing.  No more hints!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Murder Strikes a Pose by Tracy Weber

WeberYours truly is a yoga practitioner, so the subtitle A Downward Dog Mystery intrigued me.  Just what I needed – a nice cozy with a little humor mixed in.  Curious to see what’s next for yogi Kate Davidson.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Winter People by Jennifer McMahon

McMahonEnough creepiness and suspense to keep you turning the pages in this horror tale of bringing loved ones back from the dead.  Think Pet Semetary spanning generations with a little black magic thrown in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Book Cover

In the year 2044, humanity is grim and bleak.   Like Wade, most of the population escape their lives through OASIS- a virtual reality world.  Here, you create who you want to be, and live within a “videogame”. Millions try to complete a quest in the hopes of winning a lottery that would provide power and financial security for a lifetime.  However, if it falls into the wrong hands, life will only be worse.  Wade cracks the first riddle, and the adventure begins in a video game world of pop culture 80’s: Dungeons and Dragons,  Short Circuit, Tempest, Blondie. If those ring a bell, or even not :) …be sure to check out this book!

1 Comment

Filed under Staff Picks