More Book Lists!

readingFor fans of Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and House of Cards!  Click here for readalikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Upcoming Book Discussions

Call us at (631) 586-3000 to reserve your copy – new members welcome!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

The Matchmaker by Elin Hilderbrand

JacketDabney Kimball has a knack for pairing up the right couples – forty-two to be exact.  But when her former lover comes back to Nantucket, she wonders if her own marriage of 27 years was the right choice.  As is Hilderbrand’s style, it’s full of imperfect people with imperfect lives.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Up At Butternut Lake by Mary McNear

JacketSweet tale of love, loss and family with nicely drawn characters and good sense of place.  Debut for McNear and first in the Butternut Trilogy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal

JacketRacial tension of the turbulent 60s provides the backdrop for this charming coming-of-age story.  Liberty “Ibby” Bell finds herself literally dropped off at her grandmother Fannie’s doorstep.  No color boundaries here, Fannie and the household servants all become family to her.  Recommended to fans of The Help.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Maplecroft: The Borden Dispatches by Cherie Priest

JacketLizzie Borden is taking her axe and delivering whacks to mysteriously infected mutant non-humans.  Enjoyed this as much as Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.  Clever and imaginative.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Book Cover

 Don Tillman is a genetics professor on the quest for the perfect wife: The Wife Project.  Socially challenged, yet brilliant, Don uses science to create a  sixteen page survey for his prospects to fill out! When Rosie Jarman enters his life, Don’s best laid plans are on a detour.  This hilarious book reminds us of the magic of human beings connecting, and unexpected surprises!

Don’t let this title fool you, it happens to be a “guy read” as well.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson

Jacket

Pete Snow, a social worker,  doesn’t realize  how much his life is about to change when he first tries to help an  11 year old boy living in the Montana wilderness.  Jeremiah Pearl, the boy’s father,  is even more disturbing than his son Benjamin Pearl.  As Pete continues to do his job, he dives headfirst into a complex, chaotic world of paranoia including an FBI manhunt.  All the while, Pete’s owns personal life starts to unravel when his teenage daughter runs away from home.  The author does a mind bending job of exploring the raw and shocking aspects of our behavior as humans, in a very realistic brilliant way!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks