More Book Lists!

readingFor fans of Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and House of Cards!  Click here for readalikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Upcoming Book Discussions

Call us at (631) 586-3000 to reserve your copy – new members welcome!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Maplecroft: The Borden Dispatches by Cherie Priest

JacketLizzie Borden is taking her axe and delivering whacks to mysteriously infected mutant non-humans.  Enjoyed this as much as Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.  Clever and imaginative.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Book Cover

 Don Tillman is a genetics professor on the quest for the perfect wife: The Wife Project.  Socially challenged, yet brilliant, Don uses science to create a  sixteen page survey for his prospects to fill out! When Rosie Jarman enters his life, Don’s best laid plans are on a detour.  This hilarious book reminds us of the magic of human beings connecting, and unexpected surprises!

Don’t let this title fool you, it happens to be a “guy read” as well.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson

Jacket

Pete Snow, a social worker,  doesn’t realize  how much his life is about to change when he first tries to help an  11 year old boy living in the Montana wilderness.  Jeremiah Pearl, the boy’s father,  is even more disturbing than his son Benjamin Pearl.  As Pete continues to do his job, he dives headfirst into a complex, chaotic world of paranoia including an FBI manhunt.  All the while, Pete’s owns personal life starts to unravel when his teenage daughter runs away from home.  The author does a mind bending job of exploring the raw and shocking aspects of our behavior as humans, in a very realistic brilliant way!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Moon Sisters by Therese Walsh

WalshBeth Moon’s death devastates her family, prompting synesthetic daughter Olivia to take off to carry out her lifelong wish to see the “ghost lights” of the cranberry glades.  Sister Jazz reluctantly follows and the trainhoppers they meet spark a new level of understanding between the two in this offbeat but affecting coming-of-age story.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Missing You by Harlan Coben

CobenDateless and obsessive NYPD detective Kate Donovan stumbles upon an ex-fiance on a dating site.  He doesn’t want to be found, and several people start to turn up missing.  No more hints!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Murder Strikes a Pose by Tracy Weber

WeberYours truly is a yoga practitioner, so the subtitle A Downward Dog Mystery intrigued me.  Just what I needed – a nice cozy with a little humor mixed in.  Curious to see what’s next for yogi Kate Davidson.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks