More Book Lists!

readingFor fans of Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and House of Cards!  Click here for readalikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Upcoming Book Discussions

 

Wednesday, September 16th.  20/30 Book Discussion (adults ages 21-30 something) Location: Barrique.  Time : TBA   The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Monday, Sept. 21st  at 7pm: The Wright Brothers by David McCullough  (Community Room)

Call us at (631) 586-3000 to reserve your copy – new members welcome!

Leave a comment

by | December 22, 2011 · 4:23 pm

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

Another “psychological thriller” compared to Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.  This one does not compare. Ani FaNelli has a great job, wealthy fiancé, and the perfect life she made sure to take for herself.  While she doesn’t want to risk losing everything she worked so hard for, she has secrets from her past that can ruin everything.  Ani dealt with tragedies growing up in a prestigious high school, but the author left them sounding like everyday occurrences.  Knoll could have left us with a more thrilling story, rather than a quick way to tie it all up.  Even with the reveal of her tragic past, I was not rooting for Ani at the end.

Luckiest Girl Alive

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Giver by Lois Lowry

51R8AA8QEVL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_   So yes, this is technically a YA novel, and you might find a kid reading this… but there’s a reason it’s a Newbury Medal winner. I finally picked it up, as it’s been on my “to-read” list for a while now.  Dystopia fans will like it, but beyond that is a beautiful story about the power of choice, love, and  many of the things we take for granted every day.  It was a quick read and really enjoyable.  Put it on your “to-read” list!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume

This amazing novel, set in the 1950’s, explores how a group of tragedies in a town in NJ affected families for generations to come.  Airline travel was still new, exciting….. and dangerous. Coincidence that these crashes all occurred in one town, with one airport?  Judy Blume takes you away, on an emotional journey back in time from the viewpoint of a 15 year old girl, and her friends and family.  Life goes on, yet people from this town remain changed forever…

Jacket

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica

Another great psychological thriller by Mary Kubica.  Each chapter is from the point of view of a different character, making this a real page turner and impossible to put down.  It begins as a feel-good story and quickly turns into a suspenseful mystery and doesn’t stop there.  Just when you think you have figured out this story, it takes a twist that you never saw coming.  This is one you definitely don’t want to pass up.  If you haven’t read Kubica’s debut novel The Good Girl you MUST pick it up!

pretty baby

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Disclaimer by Renee Knight

JacketGuilty for reading this one in two days and neglecting all else!!!! Imagine reading a novel, only to discover it’s about you.  Even worse, something you thought only two people knew about (with one of them being dead), is now obviously not a secret amongst two anymore.  Intense, psychological thriller you will not put down.  Try it!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

jojoLouisa Clark’s ordinary life changes  when she takes a job caring for  wheelchair bound Will Traynor.  Jojo Moyes spins a story so romantic and filled with emotion, yet it’s not your typical  romance novel . The love kind of creeps up on you, and than all of sudden spins you in a different direction. The insight this book gives, from Will’s perspective,  made me think quite often of what we take for granted.  I fell in love with characters and story, and can see why the author is publishing a sequel due out in September ( readers demanded it!).  Let’s hope in 2016 the big screen doesn’t disappoint!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline

JacketIrish immigrant Niamh Power’s  journey on an “orphan train” and through successive foster homes in 1929 is intertwined with Molly Ayer’s, a modern day “juvie.”  Their paths cross when Molly has to perform community service by cleaning out Niamh’s (now Vivian) attic.  Though separated by nearly 80 years, they soon come to realize they have more in common than they could have expected.   Heartwarming and heartbreaking from beginning to end.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks