More Book Lists!

readingFor fans of Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and House of Cards!  Click here for readalikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Upcoming Book Discussions

Call us at (631) 586-3000 to reserve your copy – new members welcome!

Leave a comment

by | December 22, 2011 · 4:23 pm

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Ok… so you find a letter that is only supposed to be read after your husband’s death.  I want to know who wouldn’t open it!! What happens after you have read it, and realize that you now harbor a secret so devastating that life as you know it is forever changed?  Moriarty fans will love this one!

Jacket.aspx

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Forgotten Girls by Sara Blaedel

Jacket.aspxCrime fiction fans will have to read this one!  Written by Denmark’s “Queen of Crime”, Sara Blaedel takes you on a suspenseful, page turning read.  Louise Rick is the new director of the Danish Missing Persons Department, and it’s been four days since the body was found in the forest.  Now it turns out the missing person is identified as a former inmate of a mental institution.  The problem: a death certificate was issued for her over thirty years ago…… and the victim has a twin who apparently died at the same time!  As she uncovers the case, it gets creepier and chilling as Louise is forced to face her own past.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Daughter by Jane Shemilt

JenJacket.aspxny did not know her world would continue to unravel, a year after her teenage daughter’s disappearance.  The happy family she thought she had turned out to be a lie, or did Jenny see the signs and ignored them?  She was a doctor, married to a neurosurgeon, and thought she had three beautiful happy kids.  Jenny only started learning the realities of her family after Naomi disappeared.  Now, a year later, she is still searching… and what she finds is even more disturbing as she realizes her daughter had many, many secrets.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

JacketHere you go, Gone Girl fans!  Treat yourself to a suspenseful, thrilling page turner (pun intended).  Rachel rides the commuter train every day and may be the witness to a missing person case.  But is she reliable?  A gem from debut novelist Paula Hawkins.  I couldn’t put it down!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Tilt: every family spins on its own axis- a novel by Elizabeth Burns

Jacket.aspxBridget had it all- for a little bit. She thought she was one of those people these things didn’t happen too. But anything is possible in her life now.  Her husband is bipolar, and Maeve is autistic? Challenged? Psychotic?  Little Cleo can’t be the only reason she lives.  This novel didn’t go exactly the way I thought it was going too… in that I mean the typical she-can-do- it-all main heroine.  Bridget is the heroine without a doubt, but not in that way.  You love her character, her deepest, darkest thoughts and realizations,  every flaw and the true hopeful spirit within her as you are taken away on her journey which does come full circle.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust by Alan Bradley

BradleyWelcome back Flavia!  The much anticipated (by me at least) latest installment by Alan Bradley delivers as always, though I did miss Dogger, Feely and of course, Gladys.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s “Learned” by Lena Dunham

Jacket.aspxLena Dunham, the creator of the HBO series Girls, had me laughing out loud from the beginning.  This wise twenty-something talks about her personal experiences in life – and how perhaps you can learn from them.  A book with a lot of heart, raw honesty, and inspiration- this is a must-read! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks