More Book Lists!

readingFor fans of Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and House of Cards!  Click here for readalikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Upcoming Book Discussions

Call us at (631) 586-3000 to reserve your copy – new members welcome!

Leave a comment

by | December 22, 2011 · 4:23 pm

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

JacketHere you go, Gone Girl fans!  Treat yourself to a suspenseful, thrilling page turner (pun intended).  Rachel rides the commuter train every day and may be the witness to a missing person case.  But is she reliable?  A gem from debut novelist Paula Hawkins.  I couldn’t put it down!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Tilt: every family spins on its own axis- a novel by Elizabeth Burns

Jacket.aspxBridget had it all- for a little bit. She thought she was one of those people these things didn’t happen too. But anything is possible in her life now.  Her husband is bipolar, and Maeve is autistic? Challenged? Psychotic?  Little Cleo can’t be the only reason she lives.  This novel didn’t go exactly the way I thought it was going too… in that I mean the typical she-can-do- it-all main heroine.  Bridget is the heroine without a doubt, but not in that way.  You love her character, her deepest, darkest thoughts and realizations,  every flaw and the true hopeful spirit within her as you are taken away on her journey which does come full circle.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust by Alan Bradley

BradleyWelcome back Flavia!  The much anticipated (by me at least) latest installment by Alan Bradley delivers as always, though I did miss Dogger, Feely and of course, Gladys.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s “Learned” by Lena Dunham

Jacket.aspxLena Dunham, the creator of the HBO series Girls, had me laughing out loud from the beginning.  This wise twenty-something talks about her personal experiences in life – and how perhaps you can learn from them.  A book with a lot of heart, raw honesty, and inspiration- this is a must-read! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Unknown Bridesmaid by Margaret Foster

Jacket.aspx Julia, the novel’s main character drifts back and forth from present to past.  Now a child psychologist, on her way to being a magistrate later on in the novel, you wonder how she has come this far in life as she reveals the darker and troubled parts of herself.  Did things actually happen the way Julia seems to remember them as an eight year old;  especially on that one day that changed the course of her life?  Powerful book about guilt, self-deception, and forgiveness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

My Accidental Jihad: A Love Story by Krista Bremer

Jacket.aspxKrista Bremer tells us how her life as a surfer and aspiring journalist took a turn she never expected when she fell in  love with her husband, a Libyan born Muslim.  You could learn a thing or two about humanity, patience, and the big picture in all of life’s complexities from her beautiful memoir.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Coast Trail

JacketCheryl Strayed intertwines memories of family and flaws with her observations as she hikes alone on an 1,100 mile insightful journey.  It hits the big screen this month with Reese Witherspoon.  If you read it and see the movie, post your comments!

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks