More Book Lists!

readingFor fans of Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and House of Cards!  Click here for readalikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Upcoming Book Discussions

Call us at (631) 586-3000 to reserve your copy – new members welcome!

Leave a comment

by | December 22, 2011 · 4:23 pm

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

jojoLouisa Clark’s ordinary life changes  when she takes a job caring for  wheelchair bound Will Traynor.  Jojo Moyes spins a story so romantic and filled with emotion, yet it’s not your typical  romance novel . The love kind of creeps up on you, and than all of sudden spins you in a different direction. The insight this book gives, from Will’s perspective,  made me think quite often of what we take for granted.  I fell in love with characters and story, and can see why the author is publishing a sequel due out in September ( readers demanded it!).  Let’s hope in 2016 the big screen doesn’t disappoint!

Leave a comment

Filed under Welcome

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline

JacketIrish immigrant Niamh Power’s  journey on an “orphan train” and through successive foster homes in 1929 is intertwined with Molly Ayer’s, a modern day “juvie.”  Their paths cross when Molly has to perform community service by cleaning out Niamh’s (now Vivian) attic.  Though separated by nearly 80 years, they soon come to realize they have more in common than they could have expected.   Heartwarming and heartbreaking from beginning to end.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

If youJacket.aspx love books, bookstores, and book loving people, than this is a must-read for you!  Humorous, suspenseful, and enjoyable take on how books connect people …

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

Don’t Try To Find Me by Holly Brown

A 14 yeaJacket.aspxr old girl runs away leaving a note on the fridge stating: “Don’t try to find me“.  Did she really leave at her own will? Is this a game? When did the suspect become her mother?  Oh yeah, the moment Rachel lied about something, but surely that had nothing to do with Marley disappearing? Secrets,lies, and surprises….

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Ok… sJacket.aspxo you find a letter that is only supposed to be read after your husband’s death.  I want to know who wouldn’t open it!! What happens after you have read it, and realize that you now harbor a secret so devastating that life as you know it is forever changed?  Moriarty fans will love this one!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Forgotten Girls by Sara Blaedel

Jacket.aspxCrime fiction fans will have to read this one!  Written by Denmark’s “Queen of Crime”, Sara Blaedel takes you on a suspenseful, page turning read.  Louise Rick is the new director of the Danish Missing Persons Department, and it’s been four days since the body was found in the forest.  Now it turns out the missing person is identified as a former inmate of a mental institution.  The problem: a death certificate was issued for her over thirty years ago…… and the victim has a twin who apparently died at the same time!  As she uncovers the case, it gets creepier and chilling as Louise is forced to face her own past.

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks

The Daughter by Jane Shemilt

JenJacket.aspxny did not know her world would continue to unravel, a year after her teenage daughter’s disappearance.  The happy family she thought she had turned out to be a lie, or did Jenny see the signs and ignored them?  She was a doctor, married to a neurosurgeon, and thought she had three beautiful happy kids.  Jenny only started learning the realities of her family after Naomi disappeared.  Now, a year later, she is still searching… and what she finds is even more disturbing as she realizes her daughter had many, many secrets.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Staff Picks